Carrot Top Down

My people, my apologies for the gap in posts as of late. I started a new job and well, suddenly my desire to stare at a computer screen after work hours has plummeted to a near nada. The ideas are still alive but the time and energy disappeared for a bit. I’m sure I’m not the first person to experience blog fatigue in the face of life, but I am renewing my promise to myself, and to you, my devoted readers, to keep ’em coming. I’m a happier person when I share with you and I hope I instill even a shard of joy into your day when you read a new post. Also, stay tuned for some big changes on the blog…

This week’s post is short and sweet, I figure I better not overwhelm you before Labor Day. I cannot take credit for the recipe idea for this week, that, I owe entirely to Samuel Kressler, who made this dish two years ago, for a group of fellow food studies students all shacking up in Burlington, Vermont, for a late-summer week of cheese eating and maple syrup slurping goodness that shall forever remain in our grad school hearts.

We have all heard about eating nose-to-tail, leaving no animal parts to waste. This trend-cum-philosophy (bordering on religion at this point) is a tenet in the farm-to-table movement of late; and I do hope it continues to weave its way into the fabric of our meat eating habits for the long haul. It is much less wasteful, much more sustainable, and on par with most of the world’s meat consumption. If we are going to use barrel after barrel of oil to raise our animals, the least we can do is make good use of all parts of them post-slaughter.

Following in the footsteps of whole animal butchering, I insist we begin to use the whole vegetable, too. Let us call it the Root-to-Green movement and call it a day, after all, the practice is more important than the name. Today’s recipe uses the whole carrot, greens n’all. When I first tasted this nonchalant side dish I was blown away. One, I am not a big carrot eater. Don’t hate ’em, just don’t crave ’em, either. So, the idea of using the greens, too, simply would have never crossed my mind. Two, the flavors of the sweet summer carrots with the slightly bitter greens is enough to pique my taste buds interest. Lastly, I have made this recipe many times since Vermont which proves its lasting power of true goodness.

Carrots and Tops

1 bunch of carrots and the greens, the more colorful the carrots the better, for look and taste sake

1 medium yellow onion, or 2 cippolini onions

1 large pat of salted butter

1 tablespoon olive oil

kosher salt and pepper to taste

Prep:

Wash the whole carrots, chop off the greens, ring out water and dry, and set aside

Slice the carrots into little rounds, about 1/8″ thick

Coarsely chop the greens

Chop the onions

In a medium saute pan, melt the butter over medium-high heat, then add the olive oil

Combine the chopped carrots, greens and onions in the pan

Sprinkle a generous amount of kosher salt and pepper into the mixture

Saute the mixture until the onions are translucent and the carrots are no longer crunchy

You can repeat this recipe with beets and their greens as well. Whole vegetable eating, what a concept. 

4 thoughts on “Carrot Top Down

  1. What a great idea – NEVER have I thought of eating the carrot greens except when they are just sprouting. I will definitely pick up some beautiful carrots this weekend from the Farmer’s Market and give this a try. Thanks for the Root-to-Green recipe:o)

Leave a Reply

